promises (and processes)

As my final semester of undergrad (whaaat?!) comes to a close, God has given me two healing and restoring promises (and processes – see below):

  1. Restoring my mind
  2. Restoring my relationship with my family (this comes especially in time for graduation, since I will be moving back home)

He has also put on my heart one word: process. These will not be instantaneous, but will come about through faith and trust and diligence, and action on my part.

To start on #1: 

God has moved me out of slavery, into freedom. But I’ve found myself still unable to truly live in freedom. I realized that this is largely due to my thoughts, which have kept me from truly accepting this freedom and taking a hold of the power that comes with it.

I recently came across Romans 8:15: The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship.

The word “again” stood out to me, so I took a look at the earlier parts of the chapter. What is keeping me from fully taking a hold of the freedom I have, and what is pulling me back into slavery? My mind.

When reading the earlier verses (5-6), I noticed one thing: what determines whether someone is living according to their flesh is not their actions, not what they do. It’s not even about their desires. Instead, what matters is what they have their minds set on. Those in accordance with the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires. Those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires.

The next verse (7) really got me: The mind governed by the flesh is death, but the mind governed by the Spirit is life and peace. 

God tells me today:

  • No matter your desires – your mind will be renewed if you set it on what the Spirit desires
  • The renewal of your mind is a daily battle – it’s a process, not instantaneous
  • A Holy Spirit-governed mind is the only thing that will give you the peace you so desperately seek

On a related note, I’m in so love with these lyrics:

There is strength within the sorrow
There is beauty in our tears
And You meet us in our mourning
With a love that casts out fear
You are working in our waiting
You’re sanctifying us
When beyond our understanding
You’re teaching us to trust

Your plans are still to prosper
You have not forgotten us
You’re with us in the fire and the flood
You’re faithful forever
Perfect in love
You are sovereign over us

Even what the enemy means for evil
You turn it for our good
You turn it for our good and for Your glory
Even in the valley, You are faithful
You’re working for our good
You’re working for our good and for Your glory

Through every obstacle, every struggle, every burning fire, every tear, everything the  enemy  intended for evil, God is working for our good and for His glory.

 

Leave a Reply

