thorns

Matthew 13:22: The seed falling among the thorns refers to someone who hears the word, but the worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth choke the word, making it unfruitful.

So often, I get sucked into this trap: worrying about what people think of me, about what the future will be like, focusing on material goods and drawing out my own selfish plans. But today, I praise the God of mercy for never ceasing to remind me of the important things in life – love, truth, peace – what only a life with Christ can give me. 

I pray for the strength and the humility to lead a simple life, yet one that is flourishing with mature fruit. I pray that God pull out the thorns that may choke the growth in my life, no matter how painful it may be. I pray to be consistently reminded of how utterly blessed I am. I pray for God to continue to use me for His glory even though I am weak and unfit to be even His servant.

Leave a Reply

