whales & deep waters

I think I’ve written about this before, but at the beginning of the summer, my worship leader gave me a message he felt was on his heart for me: “whale.”

Being the over-thinker I am, I spent weeks over-thinking (and sometimes praying) – I saw whales everywhere. I tried to understand what God was telling me: Am I being disobedient? Is God punishing me? Will I be “swallowed up” by a spiritual (I hope…) whale soon? Am I Jonah?

But in the last few days, after talking to a bunch of people, I’ve been learning and remembering some more about whales. Whales are beautiful creatures. They can’t swim in shallow waters – they need to be in the deep. They are God’s perfect creation. And in the book of Jonah, the whale was Jonah’s salvation – not his peril. I took this all in, deciding to just pray and seek God’s face instead of worrying about what I could be doing wrong or where I had to go.

Tonight, God gave me a message through “Captain,” a beautiful, beautiful song by Hillsong:

Through waters uncharted my soul will embark
I’ll follow Your voice straight into the dark
And if from the course You intend I depart
Speak to the sails of my wandering heart

Like the wind, You’ll guide
Clear the skies before me
And I’ll glide this open sea

Like the stars
Your Word will align my voyage
And remind me where I’ve been
And where I am going

Lost in the shallows amidst fear and fog
Your truth is the compass that points me back north
JesusMy Captain
My soul’s trusted Lord
All my allegiance is rightfully Yours

God’s word to me today is:

Follow Me into the deep; the shallow water will bring you fear and fog. If (and when) you stray, I will speak to You. I will guide you and you will glide through the deep. I will align your path by my Word. Remember where you’ve been – but never forget where you’re going. 

Leave a Reply

