moved with compassion

Matthew 9:36 says, “When he [Jesus] saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.”

Last night, I heard a message on praying for and loving the children of this world: all the children, but primarily the unborn, the uncovered, the unlearned, the unloved, and the unsaved.
In light of that message, I’ve felt on my heart one command: to have compassion.

The thing about compassion is it really doesn’t matter just whether or not you have compassion. There’s more to compassion than having it. I can have compassion (or some sort of sympathy) for the hurting, unloved children of this world. But compassion is more than sympathy and being a bystander. True compassion demands action. 

Jesus wasn’t just compassionate. He was moved with compassion. Immediately after, in Matthew 9:37, Jesus says to His disciples, “The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.”

My prayer today: Lord, I know Your harvest is plentiful, but I know that the workers are few. Many of Your workers are compassionate, but not compassionate enough to be moved and to move. I know this is often the case with me. I pray that when we have compassion, we may deviate from our complacency and move to action – whether it be to do something kind, pray for someone, or just be like Jesus was and love.

Leave a Reply

