the thorny soil

Genesis 3:17-18: “Cursed is the ground because of you; through painful toil you will eat food from it all the days of your life. It will produce thorns and thistles for you, and you will eat the plants of the field.” My heart is a soil of thorns, that twist and turn and choke the seed sown upon it. 

I think growing thorns is my heart soil’s natural response. Accepting and internalizing the word has always come easily to me. So has letting worry, pleasures, and riches seep in. I pull out thorns, but soon after, I find more or find that the ones I’ve pulled out are back. Pulling these thorns out hurts. Trying to pull the same one out repeatedly to no avail hurts, too.

I don’t want these thorns in my heart. 

Today’s word for me, for the thorny heart is to “reorder.” This in theory seems easy. I’ve always been someone who likes to control and to order things in my own life. So I know that I need to reorder [my lifestyle] what I hear; what I see; where I go. But somehow, even the controller and the biggest lover of order [me] fails.

That’s where His Grace comes in.

Matthew 27:28-29: “They stripped him and put a scarlet robe on him, and then twisted together a crown of thorns and set it on his head. They put a staff in his right hand. Then they knelt in front of him and mocked him. ‘Hail, king of the Jews!’ they said.”

I never put this together until recently, when I came across an amazing devotional: that Jesus wore a crown of thorns is no accident. He has already paid the price for the thorns in my heart, and has taken them upon His head. I don’t need to live with these thorns anymore. I don’t need to die trying (and failing) to remove them. I just need to trust Him, to allow Him to change me. 

Leave a Reply

