on pruning 

God has a funny habit of giving us what we least want – but what we most need. He humbles us when we are proud. He reminds us that nothing in this world is certain or true but His word.

Without going into too many details – this morning, throughout the day at work, and once again just now, God reminded me of one thing: 

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” (John 15:5).
I have started to become proud about my work. I forget so easily that I am blessed to be in the place I am at, and that none of it is because of my own doing: I owe it all to God’s work in my parents and just His great goodness. 

God is pruning me. He is cutting off branches that don’t bear any fruit, and is pruning the ones that do bear fruit. 

I thank Him for pruning me, as uncomfortable as it may be. I pray that He continues to prune my fruit-bearing branches and cut off the dead ones. I pray He continues to humble me, that He reminds me not only that I can do nothing without Him, but also that I can do everything in and with Him. 

Leave a Reply

