a broken heart 

Concerning the prophets: My heart is broken within me; all my bones tremble. I am like a drunken man, like a strong man overcome by wine, because of the Lord and his holy words.” -Jeremiah 23:9 NIV

As Lent continues, I continue a prayer to God to break my heart – because His heart breaks for each of us and because He uses people with broken hearts. 

Jeremiah, the weeping prophet, was one of these broken-hearted people. Told to preach a message of repentance and to be a voice of warning to Judah, he persevered when shunned, unwelcome, and criticized. He served with a broken heart, and he wept over people’s sin and their unwillingness to turn back to the Lord.

I believe I have grown complacent to the needs of the world around me. On one hand, these past few months have been ones of such fulfillment and inspiration from God. But in ways, I still fail to let this overflow onto others and ignore the needs of people – especially when meeting those needs comes in the way of my own personal desires and needs. Denying myself and my flesh is slowly changing this, and this is where my prayer comes in.

I want my heart to be broken for: the physical, emotional, and spiritual needs of the people around me, for sin and self-destruction, and for injustice in this world. I want my heart to be broken so that I not only feel compassion, but so I am moved to act with compassion. 

To be honest, I do not know if I have what it takes for my heart to be truly broken (it sounds pretty terrifying). Jeremiah had such a heavy weight to bear. So while I have prayed this prayer in the past, it too often turns into me trying to just be a good person to meet others’ needs out of my own will. This inevitably fails because I burn out and become a weeping person with no joy – not someone like Jeremiah, who had tenacious faith and determination. So I pray that I allow God to continuously fill me so that my desire to be salt and light does not run dry. I pray that rejection I may face does not discourage me, but that it brings me closer to God’s own (rejected) heart.

Leave a Reply

